Class-led discussions/Research Paper

The semester is coming to a close, and only 4 of us have led classroom discussions. I think this is kind of a cool strategy for this class. Yeah, most people don’t want to get up and talk in front of the classroom… but get over it. Here are a few reasons why I actually like having the class teach some lessons:

1. For starters: What you talk about, you probably know more about than anyone else in this class. (Which isnt’t very hard to do.) Today is a prime example. Today Amy is giving us a “lecture” of how to use Tumblr. It’s fantastic! I have absolutely no idea how to use Tumblr at all, but now I am learning how to. 

2. The reason we are doing this is because the teacher wants us to learn how to talk and teach. I don’t want to brag, but I probably know how to use Twitter better than most people in this class. BUT,  you know more about something better than all of us do as well. It’s a learning cycle.

3. When I have a classmate that teaches class, I learn more than if a teacher got up there an just lectured. At least with this, we are becoming engaged. Seriously, think about all of the real discussion that we’ve been having lately. We’ve had class days that have just flown by because we’ve been talking so much.

Now about this research paper. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I have the majority of the paper done, my research is complete, my reference page has been made, now I just need to check on format, content, and flow. Woo-hoo! Let’s get this done. 

One thought on “Class-led discussions/Research Paper

  1. Pingback: Student-Led Discussions | ppiper

Leave a Reply

